Rainwater and Maple Syrup

Today we (myself and cats) are collecting rainwater and trying to collect Maple sap and boil it into syrup. Syrup will replace honey for coffee and pancakes during the roughest time of the year. I would tell Flint again about collecting 2 1/2 gallons  just last night, with 2-3 more predicted to fall. And of course all the bathwater in Flint could be coming from roofs, but WordPress has blocked my access to the search engines, or theirs to me, and I wont be paying their extortion fee, except with a lawsuit, soon to commence. I will sue them in small claims court to set the principle, or appeal to what remains of the ACLU, or find  hungry young lawyer eager enough for the percentage to consider the argument. (“Nothing? Then tis like the breath of an unfeed lawyer, / You gave me nothing for it.”) One would think integrity in business would be easier than suffering that from me! They could just knock it off, give up on the extortion way of producing value, and join the genuine model of American business, which, Mellon-wedge, is a lot more fun.

Boiling Maple syrup is a good demonstration of how much energy it takes to distill water. Those with wood stoves could boil down sap for free all day long, like the principle of my attaching a distiller to every house heater in the north in order to have an emergency five gallons of clean water always on hand for zero energy dollars. We have a Kerosene heater, and a very nice column of bricks to make an adjustable backyard bar-b-cue, with hibachi lids to keep back the wind, and walnut twigs and apple logs to burn. The Sap tastes like sugar water, and is a nice if bland beverage until boiled down into syrup. Then the alchemy takes place, and very suddenly the flavor appears. We just know the Pottawatomi boiled sap to get sugar in the woods of Michigania long age, but wonder how they worked the tap and the pot for boiling. My tap failed, but just below it, the bark of the 140 year old Maple tree made an arrow shape, so I wedged a tobacco can under it, and most of my sap has come from there. I think I have lost as much as I collected, but did get some watery stuff on pancakes yesterday. No wonder the mysterious copper Kettle was so sacred, and why the Keepers of the fire seem to have had a ceremony involving gratitude for maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

